Alcohol and the believer: Abstinence or Moderation?

I get this question all the time: Is it okay for me to drink alcohol if I’m a Christian?

I hate this question for several reasons.

First of all, the question is normally asked in a self-centered plea for permission than a genuine desire to know what pleases God. In many cases the person is looking for justification of a specific action rather than sanctification (or growing in holiness).

I believe the question followers of Christ need to ask in ALL things should be far less self-centered and more Christ-focused. The question should be less about is this action RIGHT or WRONG and more about “Does this glorify God?”

I just had this conversation with some of the summer staffers this week as is what seems to be a typical conversation for college students following Christ. I remember  many times at my Baptist college having these discussions late into the night and listening to the emotional and sometimes abrasive responses. I am disappointed when I think back to my reactions to these discussion as a pompous know-it-all. My speech reeked with legalism and very rarely (if ever) compassion.

Can we not have a balanced perspective? Can we not learn to be sensitive to the Spirit’s conviction in our own lives on these issues while listening with grace to those who have a different, yet firm conviction, when neither conviction contradicts Scripture?

One of my greatest pet peeves at this point in my walk with Christ is that too many Christians (myself included)  are not willing to engage in theological and practical discussions on these issues. Even more, most believers are unable to even  have intelligent, wholistic reasoning behind their beliefs. We rip one Scripture out of context to apply to something totally unrelated and then celebrated that we “showed those people something”.

I was looking for a few different people’s opinion on the issue that I highly respect:

I found an article by John Piper in which he is dealing with a proposed change in the church’s constitution on the topic of alcohol and his Biblical reasons behind abstaining from alcohol. The change in the constitution was to replace the requirement of church membership as someone who will “abstain from the sale and use of intoxicating liquors as a beverage” to instead read  “We engage…. to seek God’s help in abstaining from all drugs, food, drink, and practices which harm the body or jeopardize our own or another’s  faith.”

I ask you to take a few minutes and read the WHOLE article here.

But for those of you who want a quick summary here are his four major reasons for totally abstaining from the use of alcohol they are:

1) First, I choose not to drink because of my conscience. I would feel uneasy and somewhat guilty if I were to purchase and use alcoholic beverages. The Biblical principle here is that we should not act against our conscience even if our conscience condemns us for actions that are morally neutral in themselves. Paul said in Romans 14:14, “I know and am persuaded in the Lord Jesus that nothing is unclean in itself, but it is unclean for anyone who thinks it unclean.” Then in verses 22, 23 he says, “Happy is he who has no reason to judge himself for what he approves. But he who has doubts is condemned, if he eats, for whatever does not proceed from faith is sin (cf. also 1 Cor. 8:7,12). The main point of Romans 14 and 1 Cor. 8 and 10:23ff. is that we should not tempt others to do what they feel qualms about doing; but that also means that we who have qualms about a thing should avoid it.

2) The second reason is that alcohol is a mind-altering drug.

In its effect upon the mind alcohol works most quickly as a depressant to eliminate restraints. The fine shades of moral restraint are among the first to become blurred. Further, split-second decisions and the quick neural reflexes leading to physical action become sluggish — as well as our judgment as to whether or not our critical faculties have been at all affected by our drinking” (Christianity Today, Sept. 18, 1981, p.13).

This inclines me toward total abstinence, first in relation to myself and then in relation to others. In relation to myself, what this says to me is that alcohol could hinder me in what I want most, namely to recognize and to do the will of God. The Bible says, “Be renewed in the spirit of your mind that you may prove what is the will of God, what is good and acceptable and perfect”(Rom. 12:2). And in another place, “Do not be foolish, but understand what the will of the Lord is” (Eph. 5:17). The mature believer does not ask: How many enjoyable things can I do and still not transgress God’s will?” But rather: Is there anything at all that I can do or stop doing which will refine my ability to recognize and do the will of God. In general, drinking alcoholic beverages does not increase one’s sensitivity to the will of God.3) The third reason why I choose total abstinence is that alcohol is addictive. I simply cannot see any reason why I should incorporate into my way of life a beverage which not only blurs the fine shades of moral restraints, but also could easily become habit- forming. I say with Paul, “All things are lawful for me, but I will not be enslaved by anything (1 Cor. 6:12). If someone laughs and says, “Why not prove you can hold your liquor. Why rule it out on the basis of a possible weakness?” my response is, “I’ve got nothing to prove. God forbid that I should boast in anything except the cross of Christ by which the world is crucified to me and I to the world (Gal. 6:14). I don’t have any inclination to prove to anybody that I’m not weak. I have values in my life that are infinitely more important than proving to myself or to someone else that I can drink and not be addicted.”

4) The fourth reason I choose total abstinence is to make a social statement. Some people rank alcoholism as our second greatest health problem in America (others say 3rd or 4th). There are about 10 million alcoholics and 20 million persons who consume an immoderate amount of alcohol. About 70% use alcohol as a beverage. As a result, alcohol contributes to 205,000 deaths each year. Life expectancy of the alcoholic is reduced by at least a decade. One-half of all traffic fatalities are the direct result of the abuse of alcohol. It is directly connected to one-half the homicides and one-third of the suicides. It costs business alone 19 billion dollars a year. And now one out of every twelve marriages comes apart over drinking.

For these four reasons, then, I am a very happy teetotaler and I think you should be too. But that brings us to our second question: Should total abstinence be a requirement for church membership? My answer is, No. The reason is this: the New Testament allows for a difference of conviction and practice on this issue in the church and therefore it is wrong not to allow for that same difference in the church today. Romans 14:20,21 puts wine-drinking in the category of eating meat and leaves the ethical judgment with the believer to grapple with whether his behavior will make the brother stumble.

So I want your opinion. Not because I think anyone can necessarily “settle” this debate once and for all, but because I value intelligent conversation from those who desire to please God with their lives.

No matter your position, what’s your reaction to Piper’s view?

Joining you on the pursuit of holiness…

~ by crosseyedministries on July 21, 2009.

15 Responses to “Alcohol and the believer: Abstinence or Moderation?”

  1. http://www.desiringgod.org/ResourceLibrary/Sermons/ByDate/1982/330_Flesh_Tank_and_Peashooter_Regulations/

    I want to hate what God hates and love what God loves. And this I know beyond the shadow of a doubt: God hates legalism as much as he hates alcoholism. If any of you still wonders why I go on supporting this amendment after hearing all the tragic stories about lives ruined through alcohol, the reason is that when I go home at night and close my eyes and let eternity rise in my mind, I see ten million more people in hell because of legalism than because of alcoholism. And I think that is a literal understatement.

    -John Piper

    I think JP said it well there. More people are in hell because of legalism than because of alcoholism. This is a conscience matter which scripture allows as a conscience matter. Drunkenness = always sin. Drinking = conscience. I’m sick of hearing believers abuse and misuse scripture to back their own convictions when it clearly does not say what they say it says. So those are a few thoughts.

  2. Brian,

    First let me say that I think your attitude is commendable. I don’t know if I was ever involved in any of those late night conversations with you in college, but I have much the same recollection about myself.

    While I personally do not drink alcohol, I also do not extend my personal convictions as law to my fellow brothers. Is that not self-righteousness? Have I not then substituted the grace of Christ for the law of “insert your name here”.

    I had to apologize to my wife about 2 years ago for this very reason. I was a “teetotaler” and had asked that she be as well, because I knew that she enjoyed an alcoholic drink from time to time. After one Sunday in which we discussed righteousness vs self-righteousness and studying the Scriptures, I realized that I was placing my own law above the grace of Christ in an attempt to be her Holy Spirit.

    While I find no issues whatsoever with the personal position of alcoholic abstinence, I do struggle to justify it as Biblically authoritative. I often wonder if we were to be totally abstinent in regards to alcohol why Christ chose turning water into wine as his first miracle…

    • Tim, bro.. thanks for the response. I definitely have had the same conversation with my lovely bride as well. How quick I try to act like the holy spirit whether regard to personal convictions, even of those closest to me.

      –brian

  3. Brian, this is Rob from Tupelo, MS. I met you at a DNOW a few months ago in Amory, MS. We actually played 3 on 3 basketball in the gym… LOL!!!

    2 Reasons I don’t casually drink
    1. Is simply that drinking was such a big part of my wordly lifestyle 12 years ago, that I feel it would be a slap in God’s face to do it now. I saw so many negative repercussions from driking years ago, that I don’t need thos in my life now. I’m a new creature with new desires and passions. Matt 6:21

    I’ve only seen two main things come from drinking… sex & violence

    2. Is simply the fact that I don’t want to take a chance of hurting/hindering anyone in their walk of faith. No matter what people say, it hurts your witness. I took a survey in my youth group and 70% said it would change the way they feel about me if they saw me drinking. Even if it was on a nice date with my wife and just the 2 of us celebrating our anniversary.

    These are some real quick thoughts… Great discussion

    • Rob- bro thanks for your words. Man I’m so pumped for how God is using you man. Can’t wait to hang out again soon! Thank you for sharing from your experience!

  4. I think we must consider the cultural context, but I have something to say about the stumbling block argument.

    Drinking is a stumbling block, but something else is a stumbling block to people that is often not thought of as such: teaching that all drinking is sin is a stumbling block to people. Because when people are seen drinking who are also Christ-followers, those taught drinking was bad stumble… why?… because of false teaching.

    Also, for me a huge thing in coming to where I am is the fact that I have seen responsible use of alcohol from Christians. And alcohol is a gift from God. Martin Luther said (my paraphrase) “women make men stumble. Should we abolish women?”… the obvious answer being no.

    And one more thing. We often forget that Jesus made the religious people of his day “stumble” (using that term loosely). But it was the religious that had the biggest problem with his lifestyle choices, but they were the least of his concern. His concern was for those who needed Him, those far from Him.

  5. Brian,

    This is a well thought out and reasoned discussion starter. As a full blown heathen in my pre-Jesus days I drank without control or thought. When I became a Christian I embraced total abstinence in the same way. It wasn’t until I the girls got older and we began to teach the reasons behind all that we do as believers.

    We taught them not to ask “What’s wrong with it” about anything they wanted to do, but to ask “What’s right with it”? As much as it irritated them it was a great learning device for them and for me. It was then that I realized that I was a total abstinence girl as long as I had influence over people who could be confused over the Scripture. The whole “it is better to have a millstone tied around your neck and thrown into the deep than to cause one to stumble” is hard for me to get away from.

    But, once it became a clear personal conviction I was able to soften my views of others who occasionally enjoy an adult beverage. I also get really irritated with those occasional drinkers who look down their noses at smokers. I find that a vast contradiction.

    So, basically I agree totally with everything in your blog. Which, after listening to you teach for a week doesn’t really surprise me.

    • Alicia- enjoyed your response. I appreciate the balanced view in raising your girls and am grateful for your honesty.

    • Alicia, Can you explain this: “I also get really irritated with those occasional drinkers who look down their noses at smokers.”

      It’s not that I disagree, I’m just interested in the justification.

  6. “no matter what people say, it hurts your witness”… I’m not confortable with this blanket statement either Rob.

    I have been in many situations where it has not only NOT hurt my witness, but given me opportunity that Christians who abstain would not have had.

    A few thoughts… excited to see where this goes… I’m going to preach on alcohol this next school year, and so this will probably come in handy!

  7. Hastily written reply:

    I’ve always felt that a glass of fine merlot with a pasta dinner or a glass of a sweet, late harvest reisling while laying on a picnic blanket with the wife was always acceptable. While the question “Does it glorify God?” is legitimate, I would argue that we make choices every day that aren’t made given that sole criterion. Many Christians choose Coke over water for the same reason I choose fine wine over Coke. It tastes great… especially with Italian food… particularly Monjuni’s.

    Some qualifiers to what I just wrote:
    1) I’ve never known an experience for which kids or youth should drink alcoholic beverages. Even given the parent’s permission, it is against the law.
    2) It’s easy for me to say what I just did because I do not have a personality that is likely to develop an addiction.
    3) I think the duality of alcohol is well discussed in the Bible. Many verses describe alcohol itself positively.
    4) As acknowledged, drunkenness = sin. However, the potential for sin is not the same as sin. Since I can consume alcohol and not be tempted to get drunk, it is no different than using a gun at a target range and not being tempted to commit murder.

    I really liked the closing paragraph of the article you quoted. The author acknowledges that alcohol is not inherently sinful. It is equally important to recognize that alcohol can be a problem.

    PS – I believe people on both sides of this issue tend to misinterpret scripture as a justification for their position. (I would rather not say “abused” unless it is to justify drunkenness.)

  8. Rob,
    Regarding the following:
    “I took a survey in my youth group and 70% said it would change the way they feel about me if they saw me drinking. Even if it was on a nice date with my wife and just the 2 of us celebrating our anniversary.”
    I would argue that is based on the conditioning given to those youth by parents and church community. I could probably say the same thing about my youth if I asked them what they would think if I started speaking in tongues (an actual spiritual gift) during church. To say that “it hurts your witness” is a strong statement that may not be accurate outside of your situation. That is definitely a legitimate reason for you, personally, not to drink, but if it is a misconception of what the Bible says then it should be something that is discussed openly with the youth.

  9. John,

    Couldn’t agree with you more. I seem to find that we as Christians tend to get “offended” very easily over our personal convictions when not lived out by other believers. I think of growing up in a fairly conservative church and hearing those who were offended at having drums included in morning worship. Being a stumbling block, putting something before a believer which causes them to sin or an unbeliever from coming to saving faith in Christ, is very different from “offending” other believers. While I wouldn’t go out of my way to “offend” my fellow brothers, that’s a far cry from causing them to sin.

    The issue of stumbling blocks requires that there is a weaker brother who may be tempted to offend his convictions by your actions, not merely that they don’t agree with your particular views.

    Personally, I am not tempted by the lure of alcohol and honestly can say that I don’t struggle with this issue except in my judgment of others… which has been harsh in the past. I can say that I have friends who are believers who believe many of the same things I do and yet they like the taste of a cold beer. Am I to part company with them? I feel that would be a great disservice to the body of Christ to disenfranchise myself from other believers based on something as trivial as a drink. If that were to develop into a pattern of drunkenness, that’s another story entirely…

    • My name is Ashley, and I am an alcoholic in recovery. I MUST abstain from alcohol for obvious reasons, but I can assure you that when I was a young child, it was not my wish to become an alcoholic as an adult. I had better and happier plans for my future. I did not choose to become alcoholic. However, I can attest that my recovery from my alcohol addiction has brought me closer to Jesus Christ, my savior. And for that, I am very grateful!

      All that being said, I do not believe that an occasional glass of wine or beer, being responsibly and legally consumed by an adult is not a sin. I do believe that the youth of today should be taught of the dangers of alcohol as well as other mind altering substances.

      If I could help just one person suffering from addiction, or a young person questioning which side of the street to walk, I can honestly say that all my misfortunes will have been well worth it.

      I hope that the Christians of the world will not look down on those whose lives have been torn apart by alcoholism or addiction. Instead, I pray that they will open their hearts and pray for God to lead them in His direction.

  10. My name is Ashley, and I am an alcoholic in recovery. I can assure you that as a young child I did not wish to become alcoholic as an adult. I had much happier and better plans for my future. However, I must say that my recovery has brought me closer to my Savior, Jesus Christ. It is because of Him that I am able to abstain.

    All that said, I do not think it is a sin for a responsible adult to enjoy an adult beverage on occassion.

    I do think that we should educate our youth about the dangers of alcohol and other mind altering substances. If I could help just one person suffering from this dibilitating disease, or one child trying to decide which side of the street to walk, all my sufferings will not have been in vain.

    I hope that all the Christians of the world will not turn their heads at the alcoholic or addict. Instead, I hope that they will pray that He will lead them in His direction.

Leave a comment